Sainz on pole position in Singapore as Red Bull struggle

Ferrari's Carlos Sainz will line up alongside Mercedes's George Russell on the front row at the Marina Bay Street Circuit

2 - GP SINGAPORE F1/2023 - VENERDI 15/09/2023 - credit: @Scuderia Ferrari Press Office

Carlos Sainz will start the Singapore Grand Prix from pole position after a highly competitive qualifying session at the Marina Bay Street Circuit.

He’ll be alongside Mercedes’s George Russell on the front row, with Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc completing the top three in qualifying.

Neither Red Bull car made it through to Q3, marking the first time in five years that both of the team’s drivers have missed out on a place in the top 10 on the grid.

The first part of qualifying came to a premature end when Lance Stroll, pushing to get out of the bottom five, took too much kerb to send him at high speed into the barrier.

The collision ripped a tyre from his car and left debris strewn across the track with the majority of the drivers unable to complete their final flying laps due to the red flag.

The red flag meant Oscar Piastri was out early, while Yuki Tsunoda topped the leaderboard in Q1.

Max Verstappen had struggled with the balance of his car throughout practice, and continued to look uncomfortable as the drivers headed back out for Q2.

The reigning champion couldn’t match the pace of the front runners, and found himself eliminated from qualifying when Liam Lawson set a quick time to secure the final spot in Q3.

There was little to separate the Ferrari drivers, the Mercedes duo and Lando Norris as the top 10 battled for pole position, but Sainz managed to find a bit more than his rivals to ensure he’ll start at the front of the grid tomorrow.

Provisional qualifying result:

1 Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)

2. George Russell (Mercedes)

3. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)

4. Lando Norris (McLaren)

5. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

6. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)

7. Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin)

8. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)

9. Nico Hulkenberg (Haas)

10. Liam Lawson (AlphaTauri)

11. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

12. Pierre Gasly (Alpine)

13. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)

14. Alex Albon (Williams)

15. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)

16. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)

17. Oscar Piastri (McLaren)

18. Logan Sargeant (Williams)

19. Guanyu Zhou (Alfa Romeo)

20. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply