All Ferrari front row in Miami as Leclerc takes pole

Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz lock out the front row for the inaugural Miami Grand Prix

GP MIAMI F1/2022 - VENERDI’ 06/05/2022

Charles Leclerc will start the first ever Miami Grand Prix from pole position after setting the pace in qualifying, with teammate Carlos Sainz lining up next to him on the grid.

Initially, it looked like Max Verstappen had the pace in the final part of qualifying, but the reigning champion made a mistake on his second run, costing him the chance to improve his time, while both Ferraris found extra pace with their final efforts.

Just 19 cars took to the track for qualifying as Alpine found a crack in Esteban Ocon’s chassis after a high-speed crash in practice, meaning his car couldn’t be repaired in time.

Lap times began to tumble as the track rubbered in, but Guanyu Zhou’s hopes of making it out of Q1 were dealt a blow when the rookie got stuck in traffic, as other drivers formed a queue looking for track position while preparing for their final laps of the session.

Mick Schumacher outqualified his Haas teammate for the first time this season as Kevin Magnussen dropped out in the first part of qualifying, while the German struggled in Q2 to start just one place ahead of the Dane.

George Russell couldn’t put a clean lap together in Q2, fighting the car through the corners and almost losing the back end, costing him a spot in the top 10.

Russell’s teammate, Lewis Hamilton, had enough for Q3, and will start tomorrow’s race on row three alongside former teammate Valtteri Bottas.

Provisional qualifying result:

1 Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)

2. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)

3. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

4. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)

5. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)

6. Lewis Hamlton (Mercedes)

7. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri)

8. Lando Norris (McLaren)

9. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)

10. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)

11. Fernando Alonso (Alpine)

12. George Russell (Mercedes)

13. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin)

14. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren)

15. Mick Schumacher (Haas)

16. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)

17. Guanyu Zhou (Alfa Romeo)

18. Alex Albon (Williams)

19. Nicholas Latifi (Williams)

20. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply