Verstappen on pole as Perez crashes out of qualifying

Max Verstappen will start on the front row at the Monaco GP alongside Fernando Alonso

MONTE-CARLO, MONACO - MAY 27: Max Verstappen of the Netherlands driving the (1) Oracle Red Bull Racing RB19 on track during qualifying ahead of the F1 Grand Prix of Monaco at Circuit de Monaco on May 27, 2023 in Monte-Carlo, Monaco. (Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images) // Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool // SI202305270329 // Usage for editorial use only //

Max Verstappen will start the Monaco Grand Prix from pole position for the first time in his career after narrowly beating Fernando Alonso in qualifying.

Monegasque driver Charles Leclerc completed the top three, and will start alongside Esteban Ocon on the second row of the grid.

Sergio Perez, who won in Monaco last year, will be starting towards the rear of the field after carrying too much speed in Q1, running wide into the barrier and bringing out the red flag.

Verstappen and Oscar Piastri also had brushes with the barrier, but neither sustained any significant damage, allowing them to progress from the first part of qualifying.

Piastri couldn’t make it through to the top 10 though, and there was concern for his McLaren teammate’s Q3 hopes when the Briton clipped the wall towards the end of the second session, resulting in damage to his car.

There was a mix up at the weigh bridge in Q2 for Lance Stroll, and he couldn’t match his teammate’s pace, leaving him down the order, but Yuki Tsunoda found strong pace in the AlphaTauri, making it through to Q3 for the second time this season.

Provisional qualifying result:

1 Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

2. Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin)

3. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)

4. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)

5. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)

6. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

7. Pierre Gasly (Alpine)

8. George Russell (Mercedes)

9. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)

10. Lando Norris (McLaren)

11. Oscar Piastri (McLaren)

12. Nyck DeVries (AlphaTauri)

13. Alex Albon (Williams)

14. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)

15. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)

16. Logan Sargeant (Williams)

17. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)

18. Nico Hulkenberg (Haas)

19. Guanyu Zhou (Alfa Romeo)

20. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply